The sequel to Morgan’s Point:

Out now as an audiobook via Audible, or in print/Kindle formats via Amazon

(Or, get it free on Audible with a 30-day trial)

The second book in the Jim Ward series brings readers back to the same territory expertly detailed in Morgan’s Point, fast forwarding to 1972. A spinster living on an isolated ranch is murdered, and when authorities from the nearby town of Anahuac investigate, a literally-blood-drenched preacher turned radio evangelist becomes the main suspect. Ward, on his first day of private practice, takes on the defense of the Rev. Randall Clay, and is swept into a world of greed, religious fervor, mysterious players with perplexing motivations, and with Darling’s prior novel, a changing national culture meeting head on with the literal backwaters and backwoods of Galveston Bay.

Praise for Anahuac

“Austin writer William D. Darling’s second novel, Anahuac, is an entertaining, engrossing legal thriller that offers both darkly humorous and good-natured thrusts at life, love, and law . . . first-rate reading, especially for readers who enjoy legal thrillers, lawyer procedurals, suspense, Texas settings, and characters who live large.” – Lone Star Literary Life

“Darling draws vivid portraits of his setting while also bringing in historical currents like women’s liberation, the growth of container shipping, and the rise of the prosperity gospel, adding interest to what’s otherwise a fairly simple courtroom drama.” – Kirkus Reviews


The first book in the Jim Ward series, out now

This novel introduced the world to Jim Ward, the troubled protagonist of this series that integrates suspense, crime stories, and even romance into the decidedly Texas settings of Houston and Galveston Bay—including the small town that gives the book it’s title. Ward, haunted by a childhood tragedy involving the deaths of two young girls, tries to exorcise those demons. He pursues a law career to seek justice for others. He marries Cooper Faircloth, the only daughter of a newspaper and oil tycoon. And yet his past encroaches on his present, opening up existential questions of predestination vs. free will, as well as unveiling a mystery that threatens to transform a Texas town already on the brink of the irreversible changes the 1960s will bring.

Order the paperback version or Kindle version via Amazon.